(help) (font -) (font +) (print)printer-friendly

Manitoba Agricultural Services Corporation

MASC Corporate Governance

The Manitoba Agricultural Services Corporation (MASC) is a Crown corporation of the Manitoba Government, established by The Manitoba Agricultural Services Corporation Act (2005).

Board of Directors

The Lieutenant Governor in Council appoints MASC’s directors and designates one director as chair and one director as vice-chair. The Board of Directors presently consists of seven directors including the Chair.

The Board is responsible for the overall stewardship of the Corporation, discharging its responsibilities directly and through the assistance of two committees (see below). The Board sets MASC’s strategic direction and organizational objectives, with the assistance of Executive Management, and provides final approval of all applicable budgets.

The Board also makes recommendations to the Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Development on future programming, ensures that the corporate governance policies by which MASC operates are relevant and current, and is responsible to oversee and monitor corporate operations according to applicable legislative requirements and with acceptable levels of risk.

MASC Board of Directors

Frieda Krpan (Chair)
Sandy Yanick
Wilfred Harder
Bryan Ferriss
Jonathan Hildebrand
Audrey Herman
Larry Bohdanovich

Board Committees

The Board of Directors is assisted by the work of the following committees:

  • Board Strategic Planning & Review Committee: assists the Board in consideration of strategic matters including corporate planning, communications, human resources, information technology, and other key issues referred to it by the Board.
  • Board Audit and Finance Committee: assists the Board by reviewing functions specifically related to financial reporting and risk management including (but not limited to) budget allocations, financial statements, financial controls and reinsurance arrangements.

Executive Management
Image: MASC Executive

Executive Management
Back row (L - R): Kevin Craig (VP, Lending Operations), Jim Lewis (VP, Finance & Administration), Craig Thomson (VP, Insurance Operations)
Front row (L - R): Paul Bonnet (VP, Research & Program Development), Neil Hamilton (President & CEO), Lester Vopni (VP, Corporate Services & General Counsel)
(click to enlarge)

The President & CEO, who reports to the Board of Directors, is responsible for the administration of MASC's day-to-day operations. The Vice-Presidents are responsible for the following operational divisions:

  • Insurance Operations: insurance sales and services, claim services and other programs and services.
  • Lending Operations: lending programs, guarantee programs, and loan administration.
  • Research & Program Development: premium rates, coverages & forecasting, program development, and agronomy research & advice.
  • Finance & Administration: financial services, human resources, administrative services, and information technology services.
  • Corporate Services: risk management, communications & planning, and internal review & compliance.

MASC Organizational Chart
Image: MASC Organization Chart

MASC Organization Chart
(click to enlarge)


Home | Site Map | Disclaimer | Contact | © Manitoba Agricultural Services Corporation | Last updated: